The Future of Gaming and Virtual Reality

This is something that has been on my mind recently when looking at the development of the Oculus Rift. I wonder how things will change for gamers with significant others that may not also be into gaming. (For those who don’t know what that is and are reading this, the Oculus Rift is a new virtual reality headset thing that straps over your head and tracks where you look to the screen inside. You can check it out here.) There are many couples out there already that are put under pressure because of video games. People don’t like when they are ignored for a game or if they can’t provide the same entertainment factor that a game can. There is just something about being able to do things you can’t in normal life that is extremely fulfilling when playing video games. But right now it is relatively easy to get someone’s attention who is playing a game by stepping in front of the screen or motioning in someones peripheral. How frustrating would it be to literally not be able to get a gamers attention without taking off their VR and consequentially making them upset? That is what I am scared of for the future. Don’t get me wrong though, the idea of virtual reality for gaming makes me extremely excited to be able to become even more immersed in amazing new worlds. This is my gamer side, but my realist side is also thinking where do we cross the line from recreational gaming to lifestyle gaming? Basically, living in the real world and enjoying video games, to living in your video games and tolerating the real world. As much as I would love to do the latter I know that isn’t really socially acceptable, I wouldn’t make any money, my body would deteriorate, and I would definitely lose the love of my life. So I guess the real “question” here is should people strive to create even more immersive fantasy worlds at the expense of the one we physically live in?

Leave a Reply

